FEBRUARY NEWSLETTER

January 2023 Showcase

A portfolio of my best stories this month

MaryClare StFrancis, M.A.
3 min readFeb 1, 2023

--

Photo owned by author. My cat likes to join in on evening prayers.

It appears that I’ve developed a fan base that’s not electric, which is pretty fucking awesome. These people are legitimate fans, I haven’t even had to pay them to read my work.

I’ve struggled with my writing this month, I have a bad fibromyalgia flare, I’m always stressed out because I have too much month left at the end of the money. In fact, as I’m writing this I’m waiting up for midnight, so that when the money for February hits my account, I can immediately place my grocery order and then go pick it up tomorrow. The last day of the month is generally the longest day of the month. I’m exhausted, sick, and constantly stressed out.

I’ve posted a rant or three this month, but my latest one is about using artificial intelligence in writing. The story might make me sound like a cranky bitch but there’s a reason for that: I’m a cranky bitch. AI goes far beyond the ranting and being an arsehole category, though. It’s going to ruin storytelling, and you can read my opinion on that in this article.

--

--